Pastoral Notes July 9th, 2017

We welcome our bishop on Tuesday 11th July for the 7.00pm Mass where he will confer the Sacrament of Confirmation on some of our young members. (They will have a practice on Monday at 6.00pm with their sponsors). Bishop Peter is the 12th Bishop of Northampton Diocese. The first was William Wareing, who was born in 1791 in London, and became bishop of Northampton in 1850, along with six other bishops for the whole of England and Wales. Bishop Arthur Riddell was bishop when St Edward’s original church was opened and the parish established 1891-93. Bishop Laurence Youens was bishop when our present church was being established, 1939, and Bishop Leo Parker was bishop when the church was first used and later consecrated (1940 & 1946). There are commemorative plaques for these two in the church. Bishop Leo Parker is commemorated for Rothwell church, Bishop Grant for Burton Latimer and Desborough.